Tags

,

When it is -40 outside it is all about comfort eating. In my opinion there is nothing more  comforting than a steamy bowl of mac and cheese soup (healthy eating people!). The past few months I have been loving cauliflower, which is new for me. As a child I decided I did like vegetables that looked like trees – no judgement please. Sadly this aversion to trees has stuck into adulthood.. broccoli, asparagus tips need not apply I was not interested… Until cauliflower won me over. It is a wonderful versatile veggie! I’ve experimented with cauliflower quite a bit these last few months, but my favorite is soup.  I came across a recipe for Curried Cauliflower Soup that sounded too good to pass up.  Enter the deep freeze that has been plaguing my fair city these past few days and it seemed like a good time to give this healthy soup a try.

As I mentioned I’ve been embarking on a solo dining adventure now that I’m minus one husband for a few months, so planning, schedules, and good friends are trying to keep me on track and away from the popcorn machine. Bestie A. has generously offered to dine with me and taste my latest creations whenever I need the support.  She claims to find the planning and cooking of meals stressful – they say opposites attract!! A. braved the -40 to dine with me and be the first to test out the new recipe. I served the soup topped with roasted cashews and garlic sourdough bread.

  1. In a large pot, heat the olive oil over low heat. Add 1 cup chopped onion and sauté until golden. Add the cauliflower (1 head chopped), 1 can low-fat coconut milk, 2 tbsp. curry powder, 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. sugar, 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, and salt as needed. Add enough water to cover.
  2. Bring to a low boil, reduce the heat, and simmer until the cauliflower is tender, about 10 minutes.
  3. Allow the mixture to cool for 20 minutes. Pour the soup into the blender. Hold the lid down firmly with a clean, folded towel over it. Start on low-speed and blend until the soup is smooth. Return to the pot and reheat.

The soup couldn’t be easier! It was delicious and very satisfying. Next time I make it I think I will use regular coconut milk to make the soup thicker.

We finished dinner with some lemon tea, a chocolate biscuit and lovely catchup.

IMG_0687

Recipe source

