Tags

, ,

I am proud to say I have become a dedicated fan to Ottolenghi. BBF K. has been raving about him for a while now and I have recently been fully converted thanks to a sweet potato dish that was heaven in a pan.  More than anything I would love to have Ottolenghi: The Cookbook, but alas it is not available in Canada till September 2013.  I have discovered the Ottolenghi recipe series on The Guardian website, which have to do till September.

After submitting a 36 page paper on crisis communication strategies for mega-event organizers (aka what olympic peeps should do when s*%t goes wrong) and a slightly stressful week on the marriage front I was definitely in need of a comforting meal and a large glass of wine.

I made Ottolenghi’s Sweet Potato Gratin that I paired with a simple green salad and for protein one of Spolumbo’s turkey cranberry sausage – they are a great local company with the tastiest of sausages and I don’t even really like sausages!

Note: Since it is just me I reduced the recipe and still have enough for 2 lunches.

  1. Thinly slice 2 sweet potatoes (washed, skin on); mix with 4 crushed cloves of garlic, 2 tbsp of chopped fresh sage (I put more in than called for love sage!), salt and pepper. Right now you are tempted to add oil – Don’t! Preheat over to 375F
  2. Butter a gratin dish or any oven proof dish and arrange the sweet potato slices standing up. See photo – isn’t it lovely?
  3. Cover dish with foil and bake for 45 minutes.
  4. After 45 mins remove the foil, and drizzle with 1/2 cup of cream and return to the oven uncovered for another 20 minutes till the cream is bubbling.

 

IMG_0714

This dish was easy and looks great. It would be a lovely inclusion on a family buffet table!

Some days you just need to open a nicer bottle of wine. I choose Tikal Amorio Malbec. I love big wines – this was rich with dark fruits, without being too over the top. The aroma was lush. The tasting notes said it would pair well with with cheese or cream based dishes, and it really did. The gratin was definitely the star of my meal and this wine accompanied it wonderfully. All and all a great ending to a long day 🙂

