Tags

, , , , , , ,

When I saw the title ‘Moodbooster Meals’ in February’s delicious magazine it grabbed my attention right away! Living in the winter tundra that I do, anything that will boost my mood in February is worth a try. Have a mentioned we have been experiencing winter since October?! The article offered 5 recipes in which the main ingredients are suppose to make you happy.  I’m going to try all 5 – perhaps I will call this my moodbooster series.  The first receipt that I selected was buttermilk and harissa chicken with spiced wholewheat coucous. After a bit of a hunt to find some of the ingredients I decided to give this a try for a mid-week pick-me-up.

This serves 4 – I made it for little old me and ate the leftovers for lunch.

  •  Mix 150 ml of buttermilk, 2 crushed cloves of garlic, and 2 tbsp harissa paste. Add 4 chicken breasts (I used 6 chicken thighs) and marinate for 20 minutes.
  • Heat sunflower oil in a skillet, brown chicken on each side. Remove from skillet and cook in oven at 350 F for 8 – 10 minutes.
  • Bring 500 ml of chicken stock to a slight boil, then pour of wholewheat couscous in a bowl and cover with cling film for 5 minutes. After fluff with a folk and stir through 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp butter, 1 tsp coriander, 1/2 cup grated carrot, and 1/2 cup chickpeas.
  • Slice the chicken and serve over couscous

IMG_0724

 

Why is this moodboosting? Well according to the article the combination of the protein and fiber means the energy is released slowly into your bloodstream keeping your blood sugar and mood stable.

It was a tasty dish, very easy and economical – everything a weeknight meal should be! I highly recommend.

 

