Tags

, , ,

I decided to take a break from paper writing and assignment marking to pay some attention to my blog. I see it has been almost a week since my last post, and I am not sure where the days have gone. Although the piles of papers surrounding me and 7 Word files, 2 excel files, and countless PDFs open on my screen give me a little indication of where the days have gone. In an attempt to keep some sanity I have been cooking, and doing a lot of it! I’ve made 3 loaves of bread in the past two days (even though I am a self-confessed non-baker) including a cheese and bacon bread, banana chocolate chip bread, and a loaf of white to balance out the decadence of the other two. Let’s just say I have a very happy husband on my hands! This could probably be classified as guilty bread baking or over compensating for the ridiculous hours I’ve been working. Who say you can’t buybake love??

Aside from my baking I’ve in the kitchen each night cooking up something delicious and meat filled. Some days I think the last thing I want to do is cook, but for the most part I enjoy it and look forward to spending that hour or so focusing on something else beside how far behind I am on all forms of work. My latest joy is in creating my own recipes, as I’ve shared before with the veal. The sense of accomplishment is brilliant! I’m all about positive reinforcement ๐Ÿ™‚ Last week I had pork left over from the roast and thought I’d mix up and use the leftover meat for a curry. I was thinking a creamy, tomato based curry would be yummy with the pork. I also had some cauliflower that needed to be used, so I started my recipe search but with not much luck. The closest I came across was this Pork Curry on food.com. I decided to use inspiration from this recipe and go from there on my own.

Here is my take on an Indian Pork & Cauliflower Curry…

1. Chop 1/2 small red onion and 1/2 white onion in a food processor. Chopping the onion in the food processor is my trick for hiding onion on those picky eaters who do not like onions. As a child I wasn’t a fan either, but T. is still holding on to that so I do my best to hide them. Saute onions plus 3 gloves of garlic in oil till soft.
IMG_0488
2. Chop 1 400 ml can of diced tomatoes in a food processor, then add to cooked onions. I put the tomatoes in the food processor first to create a smoother sauce for the curry, you could also use a hand blender. Then mix in 1 small can of coconut milk.
IMG_04893. Time for the spices – 2 tbsp of mild yellow curry, 1 tsp of cumin, 1 tsp turmeric, 1 tsp ground coriander. ย If you need to for colouring feel free to add more turmeric. See the lovely change in color.

IMG_04924. Add in chopped cooked pork. I had about 2 cups. Allow to simmer covered for 30 mins.

IMG_04945. In the meantime you can prepare the cauliflower. Chop and toss in oil, garlic, and pepper. Roast in over for 20 mins at 400F.

IMG_0495IMG_0497

 

6. Add roasted cauliflower to curry, toss and allow to sit for 5 minutes for flavours to blend.

IMG_0499I served the pork and cauliflower curry with basmati rice that I stirred in parsley and 1 tsp of butter once ready.

It was a wonderful use of left over pork! Very tasty easy weeknight meal. And would be inexpensive even if buying a piece of pork for this. This is one recipe I will definitely make again. .

IMG_0506This was a lovely break from work to share my curry recipe with you, but I must retreat…

Happy Hump Day Everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

