Tags

, , , ,

Last week took a bit of a turn with some unexpected house guests. Last week was also the final exam for my class, so house guests and the expected cleaning/entertaining that comes with them was really the last thing that I needed. Thankfully the second was T’s BFF for the weekend, and boys being boys I wasn’t all that worried as long as there was beer in the fridge they were happy. My first house guest of the week not so easy – my supervisor. While we get along great, it is still a little overwhelming to have someone who is more or less in control of my future staying under the same roof as you, in your personal space. BUT when he ends up watching Grumpy Cat videos with your husband (thanks S.) the intimidation factor goes WAY down.

Anyway last week called for some easy meals, however when I say easy I still mean tasty and healthy. Awhile back I came across a recipe for curried chicken and vegetables on the Food & Wine website that I’ve been wanting to try. I decided it was a good week for an easy week night dinner like this one, plus I thought the curried chicken would pair well with the leftover corn & zucchini fritters in my fridge 🙂 It did!

I made a few modifications to the recipe, so I will share my take on curried chicken with you. This was a delicious meal, very easy and something I will make again. I hope you enjoy as much as we did. My version is for 4 servings.

  1. Preheat oven 425F
  2. Combine 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1 tbsp fresh grated ginger, 1 crushed garlic clove, 1/2 tbsp tandoori spice blend. Toss 4 bone in, skin on chicken thighs*. Marinate in fridge for 30 mins.
  3. 1/2 pound brussel sprouts, halved; 2 medium sized sweet potatoes, cut into batons. Toss vegetables in olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Spread on baking sheet.
  4. Remove the chicken from fridge, sear the chicken skin sided down. Place the chicken in a roasting pan, skin side up, and add to the oven with the vegetables.
  5. After 20 mins toss the vegetables and check the chicken, cook for another 20 mins until the chicken is cooked.

*The original recipe called for boneless, skinless thighs I much prefer the skin, bone in which is comes to thighs. Personally prefer the texture of the meat and they seem less fatty. I think you do the thigh to take on the flavour of the spice, garlic, and ginger.

Served the chicken and vegetables with a fritter (instead of the naan) and the yogurt dip I had made to accompany them. Yum!

IMG_0636

