Tags

, , , , , , ,

I had planned to cook a roast chicken for Monday’s dinner – it was in the meal plan πŸ™‚ While it was a nice way to start a week, it was also planned to create leftovers for easy meals during the week. However I got a message mid-day from T. reminding me I had forgotten to make his lunch.. oops bad wife. To make up for my sin I decided to have a cheese plate waiting for him to arrive home from work. As T. arrived home the chicken was in the oven, sides lined up, the computer was turned off and I was prepared to focus on quality time. After pouring a glass of wine for us, T and I cuddled up to watch Mad Men before dinner. A few minutes into the show, Don arrives home to Megan who has lined up her own cheese plate and drink with coq au vin in the oven.. sounds familiar… Yes I am officially a 60s housewife, although much happier to relate myself to Megan than Betty… Actually I’d rather relate myself to Joan but that’s another blog post πŸ˜‰ Megan had made the effort to break some news to Don he won’t like, I just did it because I enjoy showing love through food and simply like spending time with my husband.

This realization lately, like most of my realizations, is somewhat unsettling. I would always choose being out over staying home, out with my friends over my boyfriend of the time, vodka whisky wine over coffee dates and now I see that all changing. Part of me feels like a sell out to my single girl ways, for the most part I am accepting that I’m settling into adulthood and responsibilities. I still have the urge to go out dancing the odd night, but for the most part I am happiest these days with an apron on, a nice glass of wine in hand, and my puppies shuffling around at my feet waiting for food to drop.

We’ve all heard of the engagement chicken this can be the happily ever after married chicken…

Sage Roasted Chicken with Pancetta Stuffing (adapted from Delicious Magazine May 2013)

  1. Combine 2 tbsp of butter and 2 cloves of garlic and rub under the skin onto the breast of the chicken. The place 3 sage leaves under the skin on each side. IMG_0655
  2. To start the stuffing, cook a 100 grams of chopped pancetta until crispy. Once cooked remove from pan and saute 1 shallot chopped and 1 clove of garlic chopped. Allow to cool before adding to 3/4 cup of fresh breadcrumbs, 3 sage leaves chopped, and salt and pepper.IMG_0653IMG_0657
  3. Stuff the chicken and secure the legs. Cook at 350 F till chicken has reached 175F internal temp. Basting the chicken every 30 minutes. This chicken was 5 1/2 pounds and cooked for about 2 hours. The temp will raise while it rests.
  4. Gravy – use the drippings from the chicken, add 1 cup of chicken stock and 1/4 cup of white wine, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat add shaker flour and allow gravy to thicken. Season with salt and pepper to serve.

IMG_0660

I served with roasted brussel sprouts, carrots and a simple potato gratin (courtesy of smitten kitchen). To accompany a lovely french malbec merlot blend – Chateau de Gaudou Grande Lignee.

