Tags

, , , , ,

A very wise friend recently shared a brilliant quote with me from Nigella Lawson: “if you can’t achieve balance in your life you might as well find it in cooking“. Well thank you Nigella for validating the time I spend on my culinary pursuits and this blog πŸ™‚

In addition to the sore throat I started the week off with, I’ve in general been feeling let’s say icky this week. It is a combination of things that I won’t bore you with, but let’s just say it led to me procrastinating on work this morning by searching mini-break options for this weekend. When in doubt go to the mountains…

P4050099

In the meantime I turned to everyone’s favorite pasta to warm my heart – and as a generally warming meal since it was snowing and below freezing here the beginning of the week. I love pappardelle pasta. I think it is most beautiful shape of all pastas. The long noodles look like piles of ribbon on the plate. Often people complain that pasta can be hard to plate, but I can not imagine everyone having that complaint about pappardelle.

This recipe was my first time cooking with broad beans or fava beans. Nutrition note from this month’s Shape magazine broad beans are excellent sources of magnesium, potassium, and protein. If you can not find these beans fresh, they should be available canned or frozen. I did learn that one pod may only have 3 or 4 beans, so you will need more than you think. I had about 12 pods and got about 1/3 cup of beans.

I really enjoyed this meal, it was very simple but looked and tasted great. Definitely something you could prepare for a dinner party that would look impressive and fresh. I adapted the recipe from May’s Delicious Magazine, their version used white wine in the sauce and suggested topping with fresh mint, but I didn’t have that on hand.

Pancetta & Broad Bean Pappardelle

Serves 2

  1. Bring 10 cups of salted water to a boil then add 200 grams of pappardelle pasta. Cook for 12 – 14 mins.
  2. Remove beans from pods, and blanche in boiling water for 2 – 3 mins.
  3. Cook 1/2 cup chopped pancetta in a fry pan, remove from pan and add 2 cloves of crushed garlic. Careful not to burn the garlic! Add 1 tbsp of white wine vinegar scraping up any bits from the pancetta. Add 1/3 cup of chicken stock and bring to a boil. Add 1/3 cup of full cream and simmer to reduce and thicken.Β 
  4. Once sauce has thicken slightly, add pancetta and beans and simmer for another minute. Toss with pasta.

IMG_0674 IMG_0673 IMG_0672

 

