Tags

, ,

I was given a friendly reminder today that I’ve been ignoring this little side project of mine.. Well blog it hasn’t been just you, I’ve been equally ignoring all of my projects that involve writing. This has been made easier by my recent travels to attend conferences and the accompanying presentation prep.  T. & I spent a week in Austin and Dallas – our first time in the lone star state. The problem with conference related travel is that you don’t have much time to explore the city. I should preference that – you can but if you want to have a happy supervisor you need to be present and engaged at all times. I was really looking forward to Austin after hearing many great things, so my limited exploring was a bit of a disappointment.

A few foodie highlights to share… We did have some great BBQ at Stubb’s the pork ribs were the best I’ve ever had – BUT truth be told I was so sick of the smell of BBQ by the end of the trip! (a very bad experience in Ft. Worth definitely contributed to this feeling) There was Frank a hot dog restaurant that I loved (ate there twice **shame**). It was the ultimate of comfort and cool.

IMG_0929

Horseradish coleslaw on a hot dog is genius! Plus that counts as veggies so it must be healthy 😉

And one VERY nice dinner at Truluck’s. If you are looking for a great place and wonderful service this is the spot!! I would happily return if ever back to Austin. I had crab, the men had steak, we all had bourbon and everyone was very happy 🙂

IMG_0937

Basil Hayden & chocolate stack dessert = heaven

Now tomorrow I am off to Toronto for a week long conference – so bare with me my neglect may continue…

I do like to post about what I’ve recently cooked. What I’m cooking often relates to something else going on in my life, or how I’m feeling, so reflecting back I think the post isn’t as engaging, none the less at least I’m sharing a recipe! So today I’m going to share my marinade for Korean ribs. This was my first time cooking these ribs but won’t be my last! They were a huge hit which was great since it was very simple and very quick to cook.

Marinade:

1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup pear juice
3 cloves garlic, crushed
1 scallions, chopped
1 1/2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon toasted sesame seeds
Dash of freshly ground black pepper

Adjust to your taste preference. Toss in ribs (this should be enough to cover 6 ribs I had 4) in a sealed bag in the fridge for a min. of 4 hours max overnight.

Then just a quick cook on the BBQ – I turned the ribs frequently – every 30 seconds until down about 4 – 5 mins.

With steamed rice and a green salad…

IMG_0735

IMG_0736

