Tags

, , , ,

Silly me forgetting what an enjoyable distraction cooking can be! It was lovely at 5 o’clock to hit the save button on yet another never-ending paper to take a break to prep dinner. If you may recall I wanted to challenge myself with something new to revitalize my passion for the kitchen again. That challenge was sorted when I came across a beautiful ahi tuna steak fresh from the coast of Hawaii. A pricey little challenge but a challenge none the less. Over cooking the fish would immediately turn dinner into tuna salad and a major let down. Needless to say I hovered over the BBQ like an overbearing mother willing the fish not to disappoint me by overcook!

It was an interesting meal and looked fun on the plate thanks to being low on basmati rice and substituting purple sticky rice. But probably not a meal I will make again frequently given I am completely land locked making fresh ocean fish scarce and expensive.. Sigh.

Soy Ginger Seared Ahi Tuna

Marinade:

  • 3/4 cup dry sherry
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp honey
  • 2 medium cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp fresh lime juice
  • 1 tsp asian chili sauce
  • 1 tbsp peeled and finely chopped ginger

Combine all ingredients. Pour 1/4 of the marinade over the tuna steak in a sealable container and place in the fridge for 1 to 2 hours. Pour the remaining marinade into a sauce pan and set aside.

IMG_0740

After the tuna has marinated. Remove from fridge for about 15 mins while your grill heats up to medium-high heat. I let my BBQ reach 500 F.

In the meantime bring the sauce to a boil and simmer for 15 mins.  After remove from heat, blitz with a hand blender and stir in 1 tbsp of sesame seed oil.

IMG_0751

To grill the tuna – grill for 3 minutes each side. And quickly remove from grill saying a little pray that it is not overcooked.

Easy Coconut Rice

Saute 1 tsp of chopped ginger and 2 cloves of garlic chopped.

IMG_0744Once fragrant add 1 cup of coconut milk and 1 cup of water. Bring to a boil.

IMG_0745Add 1 cup of long grain rice (basmati) and reduce to a simmer for 25 mins or until liquid is absorbed.

IMG_0749

Once finished I sliced the tuna against the grain (very important) and drizzled the sauce over to serve. The coconut rice was a nice balance to the fish.

IMG_0753IMG_0755

I will leave you with…

Instead of going out to dinner, buy good food. Cooking at home shows such affection. In a bad economy, it’s more important to make yourself feel good.
-Ina Garten

