Tags

, , , , ,

I have been feeling a little very homesick lately. This is officially the longest I’ve ever been away from home. I talk to my family all the time, but it isn’t the same. I’ve even seen some of them in the past year, but it doesn’t compare to being physically home.  I miss the smell of the ocean, the sound of the waves while I fall asleep, I miss the rain and the fog. The late family dinners, after everyone has argued about golf, religion, politics, and who moved the glass of milk in the fridge that’s now spilled everywhere. Nights at the pub with my cousins and $5 taxi rides home.  I miss trying to explain Downton Abbey to my Grandmother.. who knew it was so complicated?!?! The comfort of looking up at night at those glow in the dark stars that were so cool when I was 13.

Being from the east coast a staple in most family homes is the fish cake. Now I have never been much of a fan of the fish cake. Traditionally they are made with haddock or cod, more often than not are far more potato than fish. Even our provincial government has fish cake recipes posted on their website… I wonder if the Irish government has soda bread recipes posted.. anyway I digress.

BBF K. recently posted a recipe for Tuna Fish Cakes on her blog, which she raved about. I had some tuna left over from dinner earlier in the week so I thought it would be a great time to give this new take on a traditional dish from home a try.

Following K. lead here is my take on Tuna Fish Cakes:

  1. Boil 2 large white potatoes, mash, season with salt and pepper and set aside to cool. Note: I let my cool to make them easier to handle and shape.
  2. Diced leftover tuna – about 2 cups.
  3. Chopped 1 green onion.
  4. Mix all together and season with white pepper. Shape into 8 cakes.

IMG_0765

I set up a little assembly line, coating the cakes in flour then egg followed by breadcrumbs.

IMG_0766

I cooked mine in a mixture olive oil and butter.

K. served her fish cakes with a cilantro and lemon yogurt. I worked off an earlier post of hers for cilantro-lime mayo. I did swap out the cilantro for fresh mint (Thanks S.!), as T. is not a fan of cilantro.

Served with a simple salad it was a great meal! I imagine the use of fresh ahi tuna over canned tuna increased the flavor of the fish cakes greatly. As someone who isn’t a fan of traditional fish cakes I love these! And the fresh mint-lime mayo was a tasty condiment – definitely a step up from tartar sauce!

IMG_0769

Where we love is home – home that our feet may leave, but not our hearts.
Oliver Wendell Holmes 

