Tags

, , , ,

Given that I try to live on shop only for the items on my carefully made list based on my meal plan for the week, when my meal plans fall through my options are generally limited given I don’t have much else in my fridge.   When this happens I look at what is in my fridge and try to think of combinations that will work before turning to Google for ideas.

Recently I purchased a piece of halibut unsure of what I’d do with it.. mistake number one for me.. but it looked too good to pass up. I had a few mushrooms leftover, a red and green pepper, asparagus and a leek.  Deciding that mushrooms and leeks would work well with the halibut I began searching for a recipe. Hopefully I’m not the only one who types random ingredients into the search tab?? I have to say I find this research technique quite effective for finding dinner ideas.  After a few misses (i.e. limited pantry strikes again) I came across a recipe for braised halibut with mushrooms and leeks on la pomme de portland.. which is a wonderful blog I would highly recommend.

This healthy dinner was wonderful! Not only is very healthy it is also very delicious. This easy meal is deceptively elegant. It will appear that you spent a lot more time in the kitchen than you actually did. When making carb free dinners I’m never sure how they will be received in my house and truth be told how I will feel about them. I love carbs and even though I know I should cut down… blah, blah, blah… Life is too short not to enjoy what you are eating. I can honestly say I didn’t miss the carb component with this meal. T. on other hand did and satisfied his want with a piece of garlic bread that was perfect to soak up the broth.

My leftover veggies were just the right amount to make two satisfying portions.

IMG_0723

IMG_0726

Nestled the fish in the broth and wine. Almost done…

IMG_0727Plated just before topping with fresh parsley to serve.

IMG_0730

“There is no love sincerer than the love of food.” 
George Bernard Shaw

