Tags

, , , , ,

Recently I’ve been thinking about cooking as an expression of love, as I cook for all the special people in my life, and I’ve been wondering why haven’t I made anything for my two babies… My two fur babies that is πŸ™‚

My desire to make homemade dog treats was definitely met with a look of ‘so you’ve completely lost it’ from T. and ever critical (but in a loving/annoying younger brother sort of way) C. Of course C.’s biggest concern was me cooking the dog treats on the same pan I would be cooking something he eats – my explanation that it was all people friendly ingredients seemed to fall on deaf ears. We compromised with some parchment paper to line the baking sheets.

However, not only was I making dog treats I was making gluten free dog treats.

Yes I spent my Sunday afternoon making gluten free dog treats.

But check out these happy pups…

IMG_1132

Tom ever the lady - so much for asking to sit nicely!

Tom ever the lady – so much for asking to sit nicely!

These treats were incredibly easy and were a huge hit with the children! Can’t believe I waited this long to make my own. Considering the ridiculous amount I pay for grain free, gluten free, healthy dog treats I think I will have to experiment some more with making my own.

Peanut Butter & Banana Treats

  1. Preheat oven to 300F
  2. In a large mixing bowl mash 1 ripe banana.
  3. Add in 2/3 cup of oats, 1 cup of almond flour, 3 (generous) tbsp of peanut butter, 2 tbsp of parsley and 1 egg. Mix together and set aside for 5 minutes.

IMG_1110

 

4. Place small balls of dough on lined cookie sheet and press into coin shape with fork. Β Bake for 40 minutes.

IMG_1115

Have you made your own pet treats? Any recipe ideas please share!

