Tags

, , ,

I’ve been feeling like the posts have been very meat heavy lately.. you are probably thinking well M. aren’t they usually?? I see all this chatter about Meatless Monday’s and think I should partake but my delicious leftovers from a Sunday roast dinner always win out. In reality eating meatless meats doesn’t really appeal to me and fish is a scarce commodity here. However – in my defence – I often get creative with leftovers and the protein isn’t necessarily the star of the dish. It’s been a busy, yucky few weeks and most of my solo weeknight meals consist of a salad with left over meat from the weekend.. OR my favourite popcorn πŸ™‚ Wow that sounds very sad in my head as I type… Good news for me and the blog T. he will potentially be home full time again next week.

Last week was the final outdoor markets of the season and I really hit the jackpot in fun, colourful veggies! Gorgeous candy striped beets, purple potatoes, green and purple cauliflower. Taking photos of your food to share makes you very aware of how bland plates can look at times. My loot from the market was going to produce the most colourful of dinners!

Yesterday in assessing what to make for dinner with no left overs to work with I decided to make soup. At first I was going to make cauliflower soup but eyeing the leftover purple potatoes I decided to take a gamble and make…

Purple Potato & Cauliflower Soup

IMG_1145Purple soup for dinner!!! My inner child was so excited!! Adult me was thrilled my gamble produced a delicious soup! This simple soup will satisfy all around your dinner table. Β I think it would be just as tasty with regular white potatoes (just not as fun!).Β Meatless meals… if I can do it you can to!

Recipe ~ 8 cups of soup

  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 small cauliflower, chopped
  • 12 small purple potatoes, peeled/chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup of cream
  • salt/pepper
  1. Add oil to pot over med. heat. Add onion and cook for 10 mins till softened. Add garlic, mix and cook for an additional 2 mins.
  2. Add cauliflower, potatoes and stock. Cover, reduce heat and cook for 30 mins till vegetables have softened.
  3. Once veg have soften stir in milk.
  4. Puree in blender in batches (careful!!)
  5. Return to pot and stir in cream.
  6. Season with salt and pepper and simmer over low heat for 15 mins.
  7. Served topped with chives

IMG_1142

Veggies soft with milk added - ready to blend!

Veggies soft with milk added – ready to blend!

 

Dinner is served

Dinner is served.. meatless but not wineless!

 

 

 

