Tags

, , , ,

With the changing Fall weather I have been craving a hearty stew. Not to mention I have been overwhelming busy and the idea of left overs that improve with time is highly appealing! It is kind of nice not to have to think about dinner some nights. Especially when surrounded by mounting piles of books and journal articles.

While I enjoy Nigella as much as the next girl – her words of wisdom are always fantastic…

I am not sure about facelifts because I wouldn’t want to be someone who just looks like she’s had a facelift.

I do not recall that I’ve cooked a recipe credited to Nigella Lawson, which is odd because the collection on her website is quite enjoyable with the short, witty accompanying introductions. A while back I noted her Carbonnade a la FlamandeΒ and a similar version on my favorite simplyrecipes.com for Carbonnade Beef and Beer Stew. Β Seeing as I had some left behind brown ale in the fridge I decided to try this traditional Belgian stew. Β I have to agree with Nigella and the comments on her site this smelled heavenly while cooking!

Overall this was a delicious stew that I will definitely make again and without a doubt it got better each day. Nigella’s recipe (which I followed) called for shin of beef however I used cut up chuck, which was still tasty but didn’t breakdown as much as I would have liked. Next time I will definitely follow her recommendation and get shin.

I won’t repost the recipe as I followed it closely – I did however halve the quantity since it was just me and even then it was 3 dinners and 2 lunches. No there wasn’t much variety in my diet last week BUT it was very productive work wise πŸ˜‰ I served over egg noodles and mashed potatoes once.

IMG_1147IMG_1148IMG_11493Β hours later dinner was served…

IMG_1150

 

