Tags

, , ,

Recently I was looking back through my posts for my Guinness braised pork belly recipe to discover there was no post! (Oops) To be honest I thought I had (yikes I may be losing it) … Given the number of times I’ve cooked pork belly I’m surprised that I haven’t shared a recipe yet!

This is my take on an easy fool-proof recipe for BBQ Pork Belly that can be easily altered to suit your taste or mood.

Salt Mixture

  • 2 tbsp of salt
  • 1 star of anise
  • 1 tsp fennel

IMG_1155

Grind together and sprinkle over the scored skin of the 2 kg pork belly.  If you don’t have a sharp knife use an exacto knife (butcher tip)

IMG_1160

 

Place pork belly back in the fridge for a minimum 2 hours – but overnight is best and will provide the best crackling.

Preheat your BBQ to low heat (~300F). Using a disposable pan for the BBQ place sliced red onions on the bottom and 2 cloves of garlic.

IMG_1161Place the pork belly in the pan AND then… time for the beer bath…

IMG_1162Pouring the Guinness to the top of the meat not covering the skin

IMG_1164After about 2 1/2 hours turn the heat up to high to finish the crackling.

IMG_1165I served my beer belly with warm potato salad, sautéed green beans and roasted corn. For a guaranteed, man-seal of approval, winning meal…

IMG_1166

IMG_1167

 

IMG_1168 I did have some leftovers which I got creative with and will share over the next few posts.

 

 

 

