Tags

, , , , ,

Eggs and I have a very tentative relationship. Truthfully a love/hate relationship would be a more accurate description. It is only recently that I started to eat eggs and I am over the top selective about the type of egg (farm fresh please) and how they are prepared. On the top of my hate list are (were) scrambled and omelette. I still can not stomach anย omeletteย but I’ve recently discovered scrambled eggs not so bad.

Since my Mom is an avid reader of my blog I should be careful with what I say… Sorry Mom don’t take offence ๐Ÿ™‚ They say a big part of growing up is letting go of things you are used to and preconceived ideas. ย Well for me that included my opinion of eggs. When we were growing up scrambled eggs at home were made in a frying pan and the cooking eggs smelled like wet dog (yuck!). I think we all know that smell I’m talking about… Needless to say it was never what I requesting for breakfast. And as a teenager I probably moaned a bit too much about that smell the mornings my brother had eggs. Again sorry Mom!

Since T. is a lover of all eggs and generally demands asks for them on the weekend when he’s home I’ve had to change my opinion and approach to eggs. Awhile back on one of Gordon Ramsay’s shows he completely changed how I cooked and thought about scrambled eggs. Following the instruction in the video below I swapped the fry pan for a sauce pan and learned that scrambled eggs were not so bad.

Thanks to Gordon’s instruction I was okay with scrambled eggs but they still weren’t my first choice.. Recently I was sharing my apprehension about eggs with a chef friend and he gave me a few tips to making the perfect creamy scrambled eggs. His over arching words of wisdom.. It’s all about slow and low.

Slow & Low Scrambled Eggs

2 perfect servings

  1. Melt 2 tbsp of butter in a sauce pan over low heat.
  2. Once melted add 3 eggs and 1 tbsp of heavy cream. Leave over low heat and gently stir with a spatula. *No whisking*
  3. Once the eggs start to thicken remove from heat and continue stirring.
  4. Finish by seasoning with salt and pepper and optionally you could add chives or pea shoots.

I guarantee if keep the preparation slow and low and you will have creamy, rich scrambled eggs. I love to top my eggs with fresh sautรฉed wild mushrooms, which against all odds is my new favorite breakfast.. Now that’s what I call personal growth ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_1234

