Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Greetings from home sweet home!

As I’m writing I’m listening to the house creaking from the howling wind and the waves crashing down from the rough sea. It may just be my east coast sentimental heart but I can’t imagine a better or more comforting sound. But I guess to me it’s the sound of home, a sound I long for living on the prairies. Regardless it is pure bliss!

Sunny, beach days are lovely but stormy, windy days are the real gems…

imageIt was much like today when T. & I said our I Dos 2 years ago – blustery and stormy.  That’s right 2 years tomorrow – time flies! And I have to say we survived the terrible twos relatively unscathed, maybe a little wiser, maybe a little bit better of a team, definitely more in love.

Last night we celebrated with a lovely family dinner consisting of my Mom, a few cousins and the Priest who married us (who is a long time family friend). It was so special to reflect back on our day, discuss our lives now, and think about the challenges and adventures that lay ahead for us. It was great to watch my Mom and her three cousins, all strong, accomplished women, reminiscing about growing up together and laughing over past stories that only they really understood.

There is that awful saying that you can never really go home. I am so thankful for nights like last night that prove how wrong that saying actually is. Home may not look the same, some times people around the table may change, but the feeling of contentment and love doesn’t change, doesn’t leave, proving that you can always go home.

Halibut Steaks with Saffron Cream Sauce

image

Serves 8

Note: night before make parsley garlic butter but mixing 6 tablespoons of butter with 4 garlic cloves  minced and 2 tablespoons of finely chopped fresh parsley.

  1. Heat 1 tablespoon of butter and oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.
  2. Season 8 halibut steaks with salt and pepper.
  3. Cook halibut steaks approximately 3 mins per side depending on the thickness of the steaks.
  4. Once cooked remove from pan, cover with foil and set aside.
  5. Add 1.5 cups of white wine to the skillet and reduce over high heat by half (approx. 5 mins)
  6. Reduce heat and mix in 6 tablespoons of parsley garlic butter, stirring constantly to blend.
  7. Add 9 tablespoons of heavy cream and 2 pinches of saffron.
  8. Allow sauce to thicken over low heat and season with salt and pepper.

I served with halibut with sautéed yellow beans (seasoned with pepper), roasted broccoli, and saffron rice pilaf with red peppers and almonds.

As for wine I served a New Zealand Pinot Nior.

 

