Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You-dont-have-to-cook

Saturday has to be my favorite day of the week. A lazy morning (probably watching sports) before making a trip to my local farmers to shop for the week, a visit at the butchers, and then a walk with the fur children. Perfection. However I have to say I am beginning to understand why T. hates to come along with me on my Saturday routine. No matter how hard I try to stick to my list when I go to the market, it just doesn’t work – and really how could it?? I don’t know what I’m going to find, what the vendors are going to have that week, or even what vendors will be there. Days like this Saturday when I really do try to be efficient with a plan, saying to myself ‘In and Out‘ as I entered the market… I just can’t help but get caught up in the crowds, the sights, the smells, chatting with the vendors. I love it! And of course it is a given that I will buy more than I need… Yikes! I do live alone most of the time.

Needless to say with a fridge full of fresh produce I always struggle with what to make for dinner on Saturday night. It’s kind of a great problem to have.

This past Saturday I wanted to use the fresh fava beans I picked up. AND just as I vowed to yet again cut out carbs for the week, I couldn’t pass up how good this pasta recipe sounded. If I was going to have pasta, I might as well have a cream sauce right?!? Life is too short for bad food and the fava beans made this sort of healthy 😉 Leave me with my delusions please.

Saturday’s should be relaxing and indulgent. This was the perfect pasta to enjoy while staying in with a bottle of wine and old movies.

IMG_1277

Fava Bean & Bacon Pasta

Serves 2 – Adapted from The Kitchn: Ricotta Pasta with Fava Beans and Bacon

Ingredients

4 ounces pappardella pasta
1/2 pound fresh fava beans (~10 beans)
3 strips of smoked bacon
1 cup garlic and chive fresco (soft sheep cheese)*
1/2 cup whipping cream
1/2 cup grano padano cheese
Salt and pepper, to taste

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil, add salt, then the shelled beans, and cook 3 to 5 minutes, or until tender and bright green. Drain and set aside.
  2. Fill up the pot with water again, salt and bring to a boil. Cook the pasta until done.
  3. While the pasta is cooking, peel the beans.**
  4. Cook the bacon in a fry pan. Once cooked, removed and set aside. Drain the grease and return the pan to the heat. Add the beans and saute until desired tenderness.
  5. Take off the heat and stir in the fresco, cream, and cheese, mixing until warm. Toss with the pasta.
  6. Taste and and add salt and pepper to taste.

* If you can’t find soft sheep cheese I would think cooking cream cheese would work, or the ricotta the original recipe called for. Mine was from a great local producer The Cheesiry producing old world style sheep cheeses in Alberta, Canada.

** If you are not familiar with cooking fava beans there are lots of tutorials on the web to help. Check out ‘How to Pick, Clean, and Prepare Fava Beans‘ from The Kitchn.

With dinner we opened a lovely bottle of La Crema Pinot Noir. The delicate tannins of this medium bodied California red were a perfect match for the richness (aka fat) of the cheese and the bacon, without overwhelming the flavours of the dish.

IMG_0063How did you spend your weekend? Visit a favourite farmers market? Love to hear about your market finds!

Elizabeth's Kitchen Diary
