Tags

, , , , , ,

 

Greetings all! I’m back from a fabulous weekend away with my Mama and feeling a little under the weather. Before the weekend I was battling the proverbial September cold & flu (damn you back to school germs!) and despite my best efforts of ginger, zinc, garlic, and Cold Fx (might be a Canada only thing) I’ve lost the battle…

Not to worry it didn’t slow me down too much over the weekend. Β The biggest challenge was staying away from dairy, which for me is a huge challenge, especially avoiding cheese. I love cheese more than just about any other food. So even though I know dairy and colds don’t mix this past weekend I was like a kid who knows they should not touch the hot element but just want to see if it will really burn. The odd indulgence in a little bit of cheese, or ice cream didn’t even taste good, or worse the lobster stew that I thought was tomato based and turned out to be cream based made me feel so ill. Why dairy we’re suppose to be friends?!?

Therefore, I thought it would be a good day to dream about my ooey, gooey love and share a recipe for savory cheddar waffles that I made last week for T. and I.

Savory Cheddar Waffles
IMG_1292

Ingredients (makes 8 large waffles)

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 stick), melted
  • 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese, such as Dubliner Irish Cheddar
Instructions
  1. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl to aerate and break up any lumps; set aside.
  2. Place the eggs in a second large bowl and whisk until just broken up. Add the milk and, while whisking constantly, slowly pour in the melted butter until evenly combined. Add the cheese and stir until combined.
  3. Add the milk-cheese mixture to the flour mixture and stir with a rubber spatula until the flour is just incorporated and no streaks remain (the batter may have a few lumps); set aside.
  4. Heat waffle iron to machine instructions and cook accordingly.

Serve these tasty waffles plain, with an egg and bacon, or with your favourite savory or sweet topping. These cheese waffles would be equally delicious with stewed fresh apples or a tuna or turkey casserole for a comfy dinner. This was first attempt with my new waffle plates and I’m definitely looking forward to playing around with a few more waffle recipes, especially savory ones!

IMG_1295Over the next few days I look forward to sharing the food and wine of my Montreal weekend getaway, but for now my diet is a bit more sensible with chicken noodle soup, water, and vitamin C tablets to fight my September cold… Wish me luck!!

image

 

 

