Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The past few days I’ve been a little.. well more like a lot under the weather with a September Cold. I don’t do being sick well. While I get there is no magic cure and it is just a matter of letting the cold run its’ course, I do come from a long line of hot toddy proponents to ease the suffering and aid in sleep. Truly there is nothing more comforting than a hot toddy (umm whisky). Keep the cold medication, I will take a hot toddy any night to ease my sore throat and congested chest.

While dozing in and out of sleep a few days ago, watching terrible afternoon t.v. (which I really don’t mind!) I had a brain storm on how I could improve my cherished hot toddy.. green tea. I had been drinking green tea away, but add in some fresh ginger, lemon, and whisky, that had to cure my cold right?!?! And the flavours should work.. Umm a stroke of genius I think so!

Not to pat myself on the back too much but this seemed like the ultimate cold cure, now I just needed it to try. While proudly sharing my new invention with a friend, he looked at me with a slightly disapproving look and proceeded to burst my green tea bubble. You are an intelligent person, you know that drinking is not good for you and isn’t going to cure your cold, just dehydrate you.Β Friendship OFF. Logically I suppose he may have a point, however I know I do feel much better after my evening hot toddy and sleep like a baby.

I thought I would give this a quick google and found out that green tea and whisky is actually a very popular drink in Asia, with the exception that is iced green tea. This was knowledge that could have been very helpful about 2 months ago!! Green tea and whisky = delicious. Mental note for Summer 2015… Β Yes I am just drinking a very appropriate afternoon green tea πŸ˜‰

IMG_1301

 

Green Tea Hot Toddy

  • Fresh ginger, 2 small pieces
  • 1 slice of lemon
  • Green tea (loose leaf)
  • 1.5 oz whisky (Put the good stuff away Johnny Walker Black worked well)

Instructions

  1. Boil water in a small sauce pan with 2 small pieces of fresh ginger, allow to simmer for 20 minutes
  2. Place green tea in your favourite mug, pour in ginger water and allow to steep for 3-5 minutes then remove tea.
  3. Add whisky and slice of lemon.

I’m not a sweet person, but you could add in some honey as well.

Enjoy!!

